top of page

PDP Launch

Today, Paul launched the PDP module with us. We are focussing on preparing for our work placement first as well as doing a life brief for the second part.

We will be doing a work placement in the second semester. To prepare for this, Paul is teaching us how to make a creative and appealing CV and Portfolio, tailored to the job/area we are interested in.

For the project, we are to hand in 5 things:

1. A relevantly designed CV which recognises your chosen community of practice

2. A 500 word discussion of your community practice, that summarises your findings, and a consolidation of your research

3. An A4 action plan with detailed steps of how you will get to your aspirations

4. A representational portfolio which is tailored to your community of practice, and targets the opportunity that you have identified in your action plan

5. A 500 word description of a) how your portfolio is appropriate for your community of practice and b) how the work within the portfolio demonstrates meaningful skills required for this particular job

All this is along with a 10 minute presentation of our work, a 5 minute question and answer session, and a sketchbook of supporting research and evidence into which practice we want to pursue and why.

I have began this module with a mind map, thinking about my general interests in life and then what parts of Graphic Design I am particularly interested in. This may lead to me to tailor my work into one particular subject.

I know that I am interested in teaching as well as graphic design. This will be my long term goal in my action plan. For my placement in this module, I will be focussing on getting one that is to do with Graphic Design.

This is for 2 reasons, firstly, I have primary school experience from last years advantage and will get secondary school experience teaching graphics this year. It would be good to be able to go into a graphics company to expand my knowledge of Graphic Design. This will better my skills for myself and this will in turn improve my teaching skills of the subject (this is reason 2).

I am really looking forward to this module and am excited to see what sort of creative response I can come up with!

I will share milestones from each week on the blog with you.

Thanks for reading!

Katie Xx

Meet your Blogger

Hi! I'm Katie, studying Graphic Design at Coventry University. I am using my blog as a space where I can record my University experience, and document interesting elements of my course, and other things I find along the way. Enjoy!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page