top of page

Final Typography Project

Today, I submitted my final typography project. For it, I created a board game inspired by the first deep sea dive to the Mariana Trench, from a story from Josie Long's Short Cuts podcast series.

I created the board itself, the box (front, back and sides which connected), character pieces, an instruction sheet, and a parents card.

Here is some photography I did of the prototype of the board game:

And this is the board itself in a clearer form, which shows the refined typography and illustrations I created for the game:

The main USP of the game is the promotion of learning in many ways:

1. Numbers - through counting

2. Colours used within the gradient and the illustrations

3. Promotion of learning to share and take turns

4. Discussion around different sea animals, and their placement is accurate to that of the hierarchy within the sea

5. The thicknesses of the numbers correlate with that of the water pressure in the sea (this is for older learners to understand)

Overall, I was really happy with the outcome as it was very thoroughly researched and designed to these specifications, which made the game fun to design, play and very successful for its cause.

I'm excited to receive my grade and some feedback for this project, as it is definitely something I want to include in my portfolio for Degree Show next semester!

Meet your Blogger

Hi! I'm Katie, studying Graphic Design at Coventry University. I am using my blog as a space where I can record my University experience, and document interesting elements of my course, and other things I find along the way. Enjoy!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page