top of page

American Inspiration

Whilst in America I visited the Metropolitan Museum of Art (The MET) where I saw some amazing pieces to inspire my work at uni.

A lot of the style in America (especially for tourist attractions such as the Empire State building) is based on Art Deco, and I saw this theme continue in the 'Contemporary Art' section of the MET.

I saw some paintings and sculptures in this theme that I found particularly interesting, and this reminded me that my outcomes for projects could always be 3D/sculpture if appropriate for the brief and theme. Not everything has to be flat artwork just because I'm studying Graphic Design.

What I found interesting about these Art Deco style pieces was the geometrics of the shapes and how they worked together.

My favourite piece from this style was this painting that was an Art Deco style and also created an optical illusion:

The longer I looked at it the more meaning it had, and the more I could see in the picture. This has inspired me to think more about how I could use this intriguing and engaging style within my pieces to make them more interesting and to give them more hidden meaning when looking deeper into them.

Meet your Blogger

Hi! I'm Katie, studying Graphic Design at Coventry University. I am using my blog as a space where I can record my University experience, and document interesting elements of my course, and other things I find along the way. Enjoy!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page