top of page

MAMMA MIA

For my birthday, my mum surprised me by taking me to see Mamma Mia the musical on stage in London. When I found out I literally cried, and was so excited to be able to go and see it, especially with her.

Mamma Mia is literally the best thing ever. It incorporates ABBA's songs into 2 brilliant, theatrical, gripping films. I love the films as they are so feel good, and I love them even more because they contain ABBA's songs (which are magical anyway).

This was the perfect gift and the day was equally as amazing!

When we arrived in London, we had some time for lunch and shopping before the performance started. We looked round a few placed but found a nice French restaurant to eat in called Boulevard Brasserie, and the food was amazing.

Then it was time to watch the show itself. It was at the Novello Theatre, and when we went inside it was absolutely beautiful.

The theatre was old and so beautiful. To get to our seats (which were amazing!) we had to sort of go downstairs, so the outside ground was level with the second or third tier of seats.

The decoration of the theatre was stunning and so traditional, without looking out dated.

The show itself was also BRILLIANT. I have been to see many theatre shows in Coventry, especially over the last year, and while they have been good, you can tell the quality of the London shows are sooo much better. The music was also amazing, and all live. When the first song started, the band did a compilation of all the most famous ABBA songs before the show started. It sounded amazing, they had all the parts perfectly and it created such an atmosphere in the audience for the actors to come out to.

The set is also something I have to discuss. They had 2 pieces of semi-circular 'set' and these were on wheels. When put in certain positions, it made the outside of the house, the patio area, and 2 different bedrooms. Everything they used was brought in and out cleverly and quickly. The minimalistic set was just beautiful. They did not need all this fancy pants set to make the show really work.

Sometimes less is more.

It just all worked really well together, I loved the show and it is something I will never forget!

(And if I ever tried, I cant because I brought pretty much all the merch!)

It was overall an amazing day, the best performance I have ever seen and something I will never forget. I cannot thank my mum enough for this beautiful and thoughtful surprise.

Katie Xx

Meet your Blogger

Hi! I'm Katie, studying Graphic Design at Coventry University. I am using my blog as a space where I can record my University experience, and document interesting elements of my course, and other things I find along the way. Enjoy!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page