top of page

Someone Like You Review

The next book review is 'Someone Like You' by Sarah Dessen. This is the same author who wrote the last book I reviewed as I bought both at the same time.

This book is definitely a 4.5/5 because of the element of sheer surprise in the book. Granted, it takes a while to get into but once the storyline kicks in, with an absolute bombshell of a plot twist from the author, the book is impossible to put down.

In this review, I want to 100% sell the book but I don't want to say too much as there is a massive spoiler that would ruin the novel, but this twist makes the book a truly amazing story.

The book follows main character Halley and her best friend Scarlett, who, conveniently live across the street from one another. Both girls are very pretty and are having the summer of their lives, but Scarlett has a boyfriend. Hoping to follow in her footsteps Halley spends all her time with Scarlett, taking her advice and generally enjoying a girly summer. Halley's mum doesn't like this, tries to send her to a religious summer camp to keep her away from Scarlett. But Scarlett's boyfriend dies, Halley leaves to be with her best friend and all hell breaks loose between Halley and her mother.

The two girls go on an emotional journey, and grow closer than ever. There is nothing Halley's mum can do to break the girl's friendship. Especially when Scarlett finds out big news, Halley is there for her friend all the way. She would truly risk everything to be there for Scarlett.

The question is, will Halley's mum ever see that the girl she has raised is a loyal, loving, caring girl, and not the rebellious teen she depicts her as?

I would recommend this book. It is relatable on so many levels, growing up, clashing with family, making friends, getting into relationships. The plot twist is also very mature, and therefore this story relates to young adults rather than teens.

Thankyou for reading this book review!

Katie Xx

Meet your Blogger

Hi! I'm Katie, studying Graphic Design at Coventry University. I am using my blog as a space where I can record my University experience, and document interesting elements of my course, and other things I find along the way. Enjoy!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page