top of page

Clean Review

The latest book review is here!

I have been quite busy over the past month, it has been really hectic, hence how the book review is only coming now! I can only apologise. However, the next book is truly amazing! Here is my review of 'Clean' by Juno Dawson.

When 'Clean' was on my Amazon Kindle suggested list, I swiped past it a few times, but it kept popping up, so I read the blurb. It sounded quite good, and, as I was struggling to find things to read I bought it, and was instantly GRIPPED.

You are introduced to Lexi Volkov, the it girl, popular, rich, beautiful. She has it all. But at home she seems to lack love and attention. Her dad is a rich business man who owns a chain of fancy hotels worldwide. Lexi caught him cheating on her mother at a young age. Her mother lives away, the two people Lexi cares about both don't care about one another. She gets 'love' from her druggie boyfriend Kurt when they're both high. Drinking, drugs and parties are Lexi's escape.

It's not until she almost ends up dead (like her friend Antonella, who's decline is revealed as the story goes on) Lexi's brother Nik takes her unconscious, almost dead body to a rehab centre on an island far away from the life she is used to. It is here she finds friends and discovers what a happy and clean life can be.

This story sees addiction and mental heath issues in many of its forms. Drugs, sex, alcohol, the love of food, the repulsion of food, gender transition, breakdowns. It is quite raw and could be triggering for some more sensitive readers. However, I like that element of the book. Yes it is raw, sensitive and very real, but it gives me, a rather sheltered teen, an insight into some very real issues that people now-a-days have to deal with on a daily basis.

It goes to show, just because Lexi may look happy on the outside, on the inside she is wrecking her body for lack of love. She comes to learn that money has no real value if theres no one to share it with.

I would rate this book a 4/5 stars. It is a gripping, tender story about self love and addiction. It is a fun, almost comedic and easy read whilst being very educational and real about the issues some people have.

I recommend this book, but warn anyone who is more sensitive to death and suicide to maybe avoid it.

Thanks for reading this book review! I hope everyone is having a great summer.

Katie Xx

Meet your Blogger

Hi! I'm Katie, studying Graphic Design at Coventry University. I am using my blog as a space where I can record my University experience, and document interesting elements of my course, and other things I find along the way. Enjoy!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page