top of page

When We Collided


This is the first book review of the new series, I will be reviewing 'When We Collided' by Emery Lord.

This book, from the blurb, sounds like a love story. It is, but at the same time it is so much more.

The 2 main characters, Vivi and Jonah deal with so much of their own pain, they have opposing problems and characteristics. Vivi is outgoing, bright, bold and daring, but struggles with mental health issues and self harm. Jonah is shy, quiet and responsible for looking after his family, as his dad is dead and his mum is in grief, hiding in her room from the reality of her life. This is how the two protagonists 'collide' yet they smash into each other and something perfect is created. Without giving too much of the plot away, Vivi declines, and their love story spirals out of control. Why is she acting like this? What is her scar about? Why did she come to Verona Cove in the first place? What are Vivi's troubles?

 

This book educates on how different people have different problems, and how to deal with pain. It is easy to read, each chapter alternated between the two main characters. This means you learn more and more about their story and their life, but nothing ever gets repeated. It is also relatable, although they have problems they also manage them and have good times. It is about growing up, becoming responsible and about love and relationships, these are things we all go through - especially for the target audience which I'd say is around 15-20.

I'd give the book 4.5/5 stars, I really enjoyed it, loved reading it and couldn't stop. I was gripped by the story line and Lord's particular style of writing. The reason I don't give it the full 5/5 is because I didn't want it to end, I would have liked a sequel/series to the books, to find out what happens next and how the families continue to grow up and adapt.

However, like Vivi says in the book "A cherry pie isn't a failure just because you eat it all. It's perfect for what it is, and then it's gone."

Meet your Blogger

Hi! I'm Katie, studying Graphic Design at Coventry University. I am using my blog as a space where I can record my University experience, and document interesting elements of my course, and other things I find along the way. Enjoy!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page