top of page

Books

I have never been someone to love reading.

At the beginning of English class, I used to hate those first 10 minutes when you'd have to pretend to read an awful book that you were destined to never like. I think the reason why I hated it so much was because the teachers tried to force me to read. They tried to make me read something I (basically) hadn't picked and had no choice about it.

It wasn't until I got fed up of it, went to the school library and chose something out for myself that I realised - this time in class to just read was actually God given.

The fact I got to pick my own book, explore what I was interested in and be engrossed made me love reading. I remember the exact book that changed my perspective; at the time people thought it was strange for a year 8 girl to be reading '13 Reasons Why' however I was totally engrossed. It is more recognised now after Netflix took the story to create an original with.

I went into English class, and asked the teacher if this week, I could read the book I had brought in. She was delighted I had taken an interest in my own content and said yes.

From this point on I have loved books. I love that feeling you get when you just can't put it down. Some of my favourites have been 'The Fault in our Stars' (again, a long time before it was made into a movie) 'Eleanor and Park' 'All The Bright Places' 'Nothing left to Lose' 'The one memory of Flora Banks' and ALL of the 'Harry Potter' books engrossed me too. (I actually used to take my Kindle in and read these through year 9 French lessons, priorities!) I also have reread 'The Summer Series' by Jenny Han so so many times. The connection between the majority of these books are they are all summer romance books, epic love stories between teens who are destined to be together, they spend time at the beach and eat at ice cream parlours. They often have some sort of struggled back story, and the understanding between each person, their growth, and their adventures absolutely devour me! At the moment, I am reading a book called 'When We Collided'. I am so happy to have found this because, again, I just can't put it down. I say this, because I have struggled to find it. The thing I like about Kindle is that you can sample a few chapters of books before buying them. I have gone through so many chapters of sample books trying to find this exact one, something that I really love to read. The way it's written is just perfect, each chapter switching between the two main characters, Jonah and Vivi, telling the story but not repeating everything that happened from both sides. It is clever, and I am almost half way through having only had it two days. Oops!

This is my Kindle, I am quite emotionally attached to it. It stores all my favourite books ready for me to reread them and has everything stored in neat folders. It is also scratched, greasy (from sunscreen), the button doesn't work properly so it never switches off and its battery life is awful. But it is mine. It makes bedtime reading easy as the screen dims down, and it makes outdoor reading perfect as it lights right up. As you can tell I am slightly obsessed with it.

Therefore, I am going to create a review a section on this blog as I read more and more through out summer. I may even reread some of my favourite books, refresh my memory so I can review them for the blog. This will be something to keep me reading, blogging and most of all keep me creative.

Thanks for reading!

Katie Xx

Meet your Blogger

Hi! I'm Katie, studying Graphic Design at Coventry University. I am using my blog as a space where I can record my University experience, and document interesting elements of my course, and other things I find along the way. Enjoy!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page