top of page

Typography with a twist!

On Friday, there was a typography class, as normal. Usually during this time, we continue with our work and get feedback from our lecturer, however this session had a twist. We had to swap our sketchbooks of work with someone from the opposite side of the room, look at their progress and continue on their idea for an hour, with no conversation, advice or guidance from the original designer. Phil, the lecturer, explained that this was because sometimes, in a design industry, you have to work on other people's ideas as a part of your job, the designer may be away, or may just need a new splash of creativity to their work.

At first, this task was quite daunting, I had spent so much time on the presentation of my sketchbook and was afraid to give it to someone else! But, when the task started, and when I began to look through someone else's book, it became quite exciting to see someone else's idea, AND be able to work on it myself.

This is the page in the sketchbook that I continued from.

He had began one idea, and I decided to try to continue it. I only assumed that the large 'A' he had started was a more detailed version of the alphabet above, so decided to try to continue this. I used isometric paper to make sketching out the idea a lot easier. This is what I came up with.

Above, is a basic outline of the flat letters, and then the 3D versions below. As I wanted to get both versions done in just under an hour, I managed to do 5 letters in each style, and this is good development of his idea for his sketchbook (even if he decides to change it or not use it). I managed to get some of the little extras on his letters, such as the additional flicks on the ends, but he has some more on the arm of the 'A' for example. If he decided to continue this idea, that's something else he could look at adding.

 

I was really happy with the development I received for my work, as he managed to come up with a development of one of my designs. Whilst this was really creative and helpful, it has made my decision harder, as now I have 4 typefaces to pick from instead of 3!

 

I hope you have enjoyed this post, I decided to write about this particular workshop as it was really fun and different to the other workshops we have been doing at uni. It also worked really well, as it gave us all a splash of someone else's imagination and creativity, which can sometimes help to get that eureka moment.

Thanks again for reading,

Katie Xx

Meet your Blogger

Hi! I'm Katie, studying Graphic Design at Coventry University. I am using my blog as a space where I can record my University experience, and document interesting elements of my course, and other things I find along the way. Enjoy!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page